The Hopwood Awards

The Hopwood Awards

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

To celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Hopwood Awards, the editors of The Hopwood Awards: 75 Years of Prized Writing collect some of the Awards' best writing by the winners who went on to achieve fame as writers. Since they first began in 1931, funded by a bequest from the will of playwright Avery Hopwood, University of Michigan Class of 1905, the Hopwood Awards have grown in profile and stature over the years to become, today, one of the most sought-after and celebrated writing prizes for students. The Hopwood Awards claim a gallery of prize-winners who went on to become the Who's-Who of writers of the last three generations: Max Apple, John Ciardi, Mary Gaitskill, Robert Hayden, Laura Kasischke, Jane Kenyon, Arthur Miller, Howard Moss, Frank O'Hara, Marge Piercy, Ronald Wallace, and Nancy Willard, among many others.He sails out the door into the snow, skidding sideways like a hockey player. aquot; K.M.R.I.A.! ... aquot;Funny, aquot; Nelson says, trying to ... Coogan is saying, waving his finger at Nelson from inches away, aquot;when teaching poetry was a license to fornicate.

Title:The Hopwood Awards
Author:Nicholas Delbanco, Andrea Beauchamp, Michael Barrett
Publisher:University of Michigan Press - 2006


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming